LWAC home  Lincoln Wellington Athletic Club (LWAC)
LWAC 2000-2016 - last updated 12 January 2011
Home | About LWAC | Latest News | Events News | Fixtures & Results | Records | Links
Lincolnshire County XC Championships
Riseholme College, Lincoln
9 January 2011

With eight individual successes and seven team titles, Lincoln Wellington were very much the dominant force at this year's County Cross Country Championships at Riseholme.

Ian Kimpton led throughout in the Senior Mens race and pulled well clear in the latter stages for an impressive win.  And, with Tom Straw and Josh Stone both running well for 3rd and 4th respectively, the first team title was soon on the scoreboard.  Shane Robinson followed this trio in 5th with Richard Bateson 9th and Paul Samways 13th.  Dan Hogg picked up 20th place and was followed by Jack Cornwell 21st, Ben Strangeway 26th, Jake Walsh 27th and Daren Dickinson 30th.  Les Ball was also a clear cut winner of the Veteran Mens race, with Neil Coney in 7th and Jon Hughes 10th completing the winning team.  Art Connelly took 11th spot with Glenn Moore 13th, Peter Wass 19th and Pete Fieldson 22nd.  Geoff Hall and John Burton followed this group closely in 23rd and 24th places and a big Wellington contingent in this race was completed by Francis Ward 30th, Adrian Dodds 31st, Danny Walsh 40th and George Shuttleworth 41st.

The Wellington U15 Girls are a very powerful squad and, as expected, they overwhelmed the opposition.  Abbie Donnelly made all the running to win in fine style with Bo Haywood chasing hard for the runner-up berth.  Rebekah Ward took 3rd place with Catrina Thomas close behind in 4th, Sydney Cherrie 6th and Rhiannon Philps 9th.  Another comfortable Wellington team win came from the U15 Boys.  Haran Dunderdale held off a strong challenge from Dylan Love for the first two places, with Joe Wilkinson 8th and Dion Harrison 12th.  And the U13 Boys followed suit with Declan Dickinson taking the title and being followed by Joe Shuttleworth in 3rd, Daniel Skinner 4th and Liam Brotherton 9th.

The Senior Womens race saw the finish of the day, with Lara Thomas looking certain to score when going clear soon after halfway.  However, her lead diminished rapidly in the closing stages and she was headed right on the line.  Natalie Farrow was a good 3rd with Lucinda Pitcher 6th, Rachael Nathan 7th, Sylvia Strangeway 10th and Sarah Kimpton 15th.  Susie Ardron comfortably took the Veteran Womens title for Wellington and was followed in by Anne Gilroy 5th, Ann Storr 13th, Pat Kimpton 15th and Dot Fraser 16th.  Both of the U20 fields were quite small but Ronnie Wilson looked good when winning the Mens race by a wide margin from Ryan Stevenson.  And Gemma Selwood was another Wellington title winner in the Womens contest.  In the U17 Mens race, Matt Bee in 3rd place held off Sam Shuttleworth 4th and Adam Baker 5th.  And Sheridan McWilliam was first home for the U17 Womens squad in 4th spot with Laura Donnelly 5th and Megan Ball 10th.

Contact LWAC via email  Find us on Facebook
Return to previous page
Return to LWAC Home page